Genesis 1:2

Introduction

Hello everyone. Today I will be talking about Genesis Chapter 1 verse 2. This is not for me the easiest verse to talk about mainly because there are so many interpretations as to what it means. I will simply stay basic. The verse is as follows from the King James Version:

Genesis 1:2: And the earth was without form, and Void; and darkness was upon the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God moved upon the face of the waters.

What is this verse really talking about?

Well just for simplicity’s sake let us just stick with what the verse says. Apparently the earth was formless and empty and was covered with water And God’s spirit moved/hoovered some would say brooded upon that water.

What does all this mean?

Honestly I think with this verse this is where people get into arguments on debating stuff. Some will say that verse 2 is disconnected from verse 1 and there was a great catastrophe where God had to remake the earth. There are problems with this view mainly that when God finished creating everything He said it was very good. The other problem is every version I have read except a few that have had paragraphs have always grouped verses 1 and 2 in their own paragraph. Not that this is a big deal but I don’t think that that was personally accidental. I personally believe verses 1 and 2 are meant to be together. It creates strange teachings to separate them.

So what does it mean? Personally I think God is just telling us what He did before He started created things. And how it was. And I think personally it is as simple as that. Maybe later in life and as I study more I may think differently. But I do believe it is that simple.

What are we going to do about it? How does it apply to us?

As I said with Genesis 1:1 it determines as some would call it your world view and/or Christian view. If you believe what this verse says whole heartedly then you will not tend to allegorize God’s word. If you try to interpret it beyond what it is saying and try to explain something that really can’t be explained because we weren’t there you will tend to allegorize and symbolize God’s word and take other things out of context down the road.

As I said before and will probably say again. The final decision you make is completely up to you. I don’t have a PH.D. I am not a pastor. I am just a Christian who is simply stating things as I see God to be showing them through what I am taught at church and what the Holy Spirit shows me as I read God’s word.

Conclusion

Yes I know this wasn’t an exciting one today. But I find even for me Genesis 1:2 is confusing. If you keep it with Genesis 1:1 it isn’t so much. But still I personally believe it is something we can maybe grasp and get an idea what was going on. But I believe God will teach us certain things in eternity and I personally believe this will be one of them He teaches us. I of course could be wrong. But I am not going to say something totally outlandish either and teach false teaching. If I don’t know what His word is saying then I only state what it is obviously saying and trash any weird ideas I may have or other’s may have until the Lord Himself shows me the truth either through personal study of His word. Or through fellow believers and iron sharpening iron. I will not twist God’s word to make it say something it doesn’t say for any reason. Even if my simple thoughts seem foolish.

Leave a Reply

