Genesis 1:1

Hello everyone.
I started this on another blog actually. But I like wordpress much better because I can have it automatically post to my facebook and twitter accounts.
Ok. About Genesis 1:1
In the beginning God created the heaven(s) and the earth.
I personally believe the word heaven should be translated heavens in the king james version as the Hebrew word behind that word is plural. But I won’t insist upon it.
The thing I will say or ask today is what do we believe about this verse? Could one say that how one thinks of this verse affects one’s entire belief system?

What do we believe about this verse?
Well. What does the verse say? In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.
If we believe this verse we believe that God created the heavens and the earth in the beginning when nothing else existed except Himself. It is really that simple.

Could one say that how one thinks of this verse affects one’s entire belief system?
I personally believe that yes it does affect one’s entire believe system. If one takes the verse at face value although simple it is profound. To believe this verse at all means you believe there is God. And what is more you believe that God created what it says He created. And generally taking this view you will take a more literal view about God’s word and take it seriously.

If you don’t believe this verse or believe only half of this verse then you will tend to take the Bible allegorically and/or not believe it at all.

My personal belief.

I believe that in the beginning God created the heavens and the earth as it says. I believe in the Bible (God’s Word) very literally and very seriously. I will understand if you disagree with me but this is what I believe.

Challenge to readers of this post.

Have you ever thought about what you believe and how it may affect your whole life system? If not I ask you to please think about it today. And if you need to do something about it please do.

Leave a Reply

